Team England has today announced the athletes selected to represent the host nation in T20 Women’s Cricket at this summer’s Commonwealth Games. Making its Commonwealth Games debut at Birmingham 2022, T20 Cricket is one of the sports fastest and most exciting formats. 

The 15 players will make history as the first cricketers to represent Team England in the Commonwealth Games. There are first international call-ups for teenagers Alice Capsey and Freya Kemp, while Issy Wong will get a chance to represent her country in her home city – having been named in England’s T20 squad for the first time.

The players will travel to Loughborough on July 16th for ‘Kitting Out’; where they will be officially welcomed to Team England with their Games kit.

The players announced to represent Team England are:


  • Maia Bouchier, London
  • Katherine Brunt, Barnsley
  • Alice Capsey, Dorking
  • Kate Cross, Manchester
  • Freya Davies, Horsham
  • Sophia Dunkley, London
  • Sophie Ecclestone, Chester
  • Sarah Glenn, Derby
  • Amy Jones, Sutton Coldfield
  • Freya Kemp, Framfield
  • Heather Knight, Plymouth (Captain)
  • Nat Sciver, Cobham
  • Bryony Smith, Wallington
  • Issy Wong, Birmingham
  • Danni Wyatt, Newcastle-Under-Lyme

Birmingham’s Issy Wong is relishing a home Games: “It’s really surreal to be picked to play for Team England in a Commonwealth Games in my home city. I can’t really put into words how much it means. You grow up watching events like the Commonwealth Games and it’s the kind of thing that inspires you to get outside and play sport. It’s a huge honour.”

Captain Heather Knight commented: “We can’t wait to represent Team England at the Commonwealth Games. It’s such a huge opportunity, and the thought of potentially being able to medal is so exciting. We’re so excited to get to Birmingham and get going.”

Team England’s Chef de Mission, Mark England OBE, welcomed the players to the team: “I would like to congratulate each of the players on being selected to represent Team England and welcome them to the Pride. It’s so exciting to have the T20 Women’s format in the Games for the first time and a great moment for women’s sport this summer. I extend the team my very best wishes. With this marking our final team announcement, we’re ready and raring to Bring It Home.”

The Women’s T20 Cricket will take place at Edgbaston Stadium, starting on the first day of competition, 29th July. Team England is pooled in group B (England, South Africa, Sri Lanka and New Zealand) and will start off their tournament against Sri Lanka on Saturday 30th July. Australia, Barbados, India and Pakistan are in group A. 

This summer, Team England will comprise of over 400 athletes in total, all of whom will look to capitalise on the once in a lifetime opportunity to bring home success in their own country. You can get behind Team England by following its social channels where each athlete will become Part of the Pride in the run up to Birmingham.

The Commonwealth Games is a multi-sport event with a fully integrated programme of para sport disciplines and this year’s Games promises to be extra special with full stadiums and arenas after Tokyo 2020 took place behind closed doors. Birmingham 2022 is set to have the largest ever female and para sport programme in history after a new discipline of Women’s T20 Cricket, Beach Volleyball and Para Table Tennis were confirmed.